Classification and Lifecycle of Butterfly

What is a Butterfly?

Butterflies are the adult flying stages of insects that belong to the order or group Lepidoptera. Moths are also included in this category. “Lepidoptera” means “scaly wings” in Greek. This name fits the insects in this group precisely since their wings are coated in millions of small scales that overlap in rows. The butterfly’s beauty is due to its multicolored scales, which are organized in unique patterns for each species. This article is based on the Lifecycle of Butterfly.

Butterflies, like all other insects, have six legs and three primary body parts: the head, the thorax (chest or midsection), and the abdomen (tail end). They feature two antennas as well as an exoskeleton.

Lifecycle of Butterfly notes


Butterflies belong to the order Lepidoptera, which is the second largest order of insects after Coleoptera. The order Lepidoptera includes moths and butterflies, and they are characterized by their two pairs of wings, with scales covering the wings and body.

There are several families of butterflies, but here are some of the most common ones:

  1. Nymphalidae – Brush-footed butterflies, such as the Monarch, Painted Lady, and Admirals.
  2. Papilionidae – Swallowtail butterflies, such as the Black Swallowtail and Tiger Swallowtail.
  3. Pieridae – Whites and Yellows, such as the Cabbage White and Clouded Yellow.
  4. Lycaenidae – Gossamer-winged butterflies, such as the Hairstreaks and Blues.
  5. Hesperiidae – Skippers, such as the Silver-spotted Skipper and Fiery Skipper.

Each family of butterfly has its own distinctive characteristics, including wing shape, coloration, and behavior.

Lifecycle of Butterfly

The life cycle of a butterfly goes through four stages: egg, larva (caterpillar), pupa (chrysalis), and adult.

Lifecycle of Butterfly
Lifecycle of Butterfly


  • The egg stage is the first stage in the life cycle of a butterfly.
  • A female butterfly lays her eggs on a host plant, usually on the underside of a leaf.
  • The size, shape, and color of the eggs vary depending on the species of butterfly.
  • The eggs are typically small, ranging from a few tenths of a millimeter to several millimeters in diameter.
  • The eggs are usually round or oval in shape, although some species lay cylindrical or conical-shaped eggs.
  • The eggs are covered in a protective layer called the chorion, which helps prevent desiccation and protects the developing embryo.
  • The length of the egg stage varies depending on the species and environmental conditions such as temperature and humidity.
  • Inside the egg, the embryo develops and feeds on the yolk until it is ready to hatch.
  • In some species, the developing embryo can enter diapause, a state of suspended animation that allows the egg to survive through adverse environmental conditions.
  • When the egg is ready to hatch, the larva or caterpillar emerges and begins the next stage of the life cycle of butterfly.


The larva stage of a butterfly, also known as the caterpillar stage, is the second stage in the lifecycle of butterfly. Here are some key points about the larva stage:

  • The larva stage begins when the butterfly hatches from its egg.
  • Caterpillars are typically small and cylindrical, with soft bodies and segmented legs.
  • Caterpillars have a voracious appetite and spend most of their time eating the leaves of the host plant.
  • As caterpillars grow, they molt, shedding their skin several times to accommodate their increasing size.
  • Some species of caterpillars have specialized structures called prolegs, which help them cling to leaves and climb over obstacles.
  • Caterpillars come in a variety of colors and patterns, some of which serve as camouflage to protect them from predators.
  • The length of the larva stage varies depending on the species and environmental conditions, but can last from a few days to several weeks.
  • At the end of the larva stage, the caterpillar will typically find a suitable location to pupate and transform into an adult butterfly.
  • During the larva stage, the caterpillar consumes a large amount of plant material, which is stored as energy for the pupa and adult stages.
  • The larva stage is a critical period in the butterfly’s development, as it determines the size and health of the adult butterfly.


The pupa stage, also known as the chrysalis stage, is the third stage in the life cycle of a butterfly. Here are some key points about the pupa stage:

  • The pupa stage follows the larva or caterpillar stage and precedes the adult butterfly stage.
  • During the pupa stage, the caterpillar undergoes a metamorphosis in which it transforms into a butterfly.
  • The pupa is usually suspended from a twig or leaf by a silken thread, or it may be attached to a flat surface.
  • The pupa is usually brown or green in color, and its shape can vary depending on the species of butterfly.
  • Inside the pupa, the caterpillar’s body undergoes significant changes as it transforms into a butterfly. This includes the development of wings, legs, and other body parts.
  • The length of the pupa stage varies depending on the species and environmental conditions, but it usually lasts for several days to several weeks.
  • The pupa is protected by a hard outer shell that helps prevent damage to the developing butterfly.
  • During the pupa stage, the butterfly does not eat or move, and its metabolic rate is greatly reduced.
  • After the pupa stage is complete, the adult butterfly emerges from the chrysalis and begins the final stage of its life cycle.
  • The pupa stage is a critical period in the butterfly’s development, as it determines the adult butterfly’s size, shape, and coloration.


The adult stage is the final stage in the life cycle of a butterfly. Here are some key points about the adult stage:

  • The adult stage begins when the butterfly emerges from the pupa or chrysalis.
  • Adult butterflies have three main body parts: the head, thorax, and abdomen.
  • They have four wings, which are covered in scales and are typically brightly colored with intricate patterns.
  • Adult butterflies have two compound eyes, which consist of many small lenses that allow them to see a wide range of colors and shapes.
  • They also have a long, slender proboscis, which is used to suck nectar from flowers.
  • Adult butterflies feed primarily on nectar, although some species also feed on tree sap, rotting fruit, and even animal dung.
  • Adult butterflies have a relatively short lifespan, typically ranging from a few days to several weeks depending on the species.
  • During the adult stage, butterflies engage in behaviors such as mating, searching for food and suitable habitat, and avoiding predators.
  • Male butterflies typically search for female butterflies by sight and smell, and courtship behaviors may include aerial displays, wing flicking, and pheromone release.
  • After mating, females lay eggs on host plants to start the next generation of butterflies, and the life cycle begins anew.

Binod G C

I'm Binod G C (MSc), a PhD candidate in cell and molecular biology who works as a biology educator and enjoys scientific blogging. My proclivity for blogging is intended to make notes and study materials more accessible to students.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *